Food Stamp Challenge Day 5,6,7 Reflections

DSCN5478

So here we are. I survived the food stamp challenge! I did not get any email updates with themes for the last two days. The theme for day 5 was focusing on the cuts in food stamp benefits that will occur on November 1st. More information can be found at the links below.

http://www.cbpp.org/cms/?fa=view&id=3899

http://frac.org/federal-foodnutrition-programs/snapfood-stamps/about-the-november-1-snapfood-stamp-benefit-reduction/

I apologize if the posts this past week have been kind of depressing. I think this has been a great way to raise awareness about what is going on around us and we cannot turn a blind eye to it. For those of you who know me well, I am a pretty deep person so I will probably have a lot of depressing future posts with my thoughts or injustices of the world. But I have to be honest, towards the end, I started to dread posting because I felt like there wasn’t anything worth saying. I didn’t have a glamorous life to post about like trying new foods at ethnic restaurants, a cool new happy hour spot, or some great run I did because I did not have the energy or resources for that this week.

I definitely feel that it got slightly easier towards the end of the week, especially the busier I was so I didn’t have to sit at home around a ton of food that I couldn’t eat. But it may just be that my body got used to starving and didn’t feel the hunger cues as much. Which sort of resembles an eating disorder, which is not a good thing..a post for another time. I just want to let you know that my intention with this was not to lose weight. If I ever did this again, I would totally shop around and get more food for my money. Or maybe, just maybe, it was the power of prayer. I started praying a lot when I would feel that the hunger was unbearable.

??????????

Some things I learned this past week:

-I have a lot of people in my life that love me and feed me-physically, spiritually, and emotionally. I know some people living in poverty or on food stamps do not have a support network in place. It sounds so simple, but love is the answer to a lot of the problems in this world. Love really does win. And it’s encouraging to keep in mind that we have victory through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross. We’ve already won the battle so we don’t need to get bogged down by struggles of this life… or we can at least have hope in the midst of the struggles.

– I’m lucky that I have friends and family willing to sit down and share a meal with me. I realized how much of my social life revolves around food. It really brings people together and I felt that I was missing out in some ways, eating my rice and beans for dinner instead of what my family made.

-I can survive without caffeine and chocolate.

-However, if I ever do this again, I will budget for one dark chocolate bar to ration out for the week.

-Chicken noodle soup really is magical and not just when you’re sick. After that night of my “charity meal” I woke up feeling like a champion and banged out some squats and push ups before going in to work.

-I’m not a huge fan of meat and I eat like a vegetarian 90% of the time. But I realized I could never be a vegetarian 100%. I am craving a burger right now so bad, which doesn’t happen very often. I’m just so nutrient deprived I think my body needs iron. And I’m not talking a McDonald’s dollar menu burger. I need a grass-fed buffalo or lamb burger.

-There are glimmers of hope in the darkness of despair. Whether it’s an urban garden or finding messages of inspiration on the streets of Baltimore, change is coming.

Hopefully yours,

Cara

P.S. Stay tuned for a big announcement in my next post!

 

Leave a Reply

