Day 3 Food Stamp Challenge Reflections

1382877_10151932624869604_2062947888_n

So I’m almost halfway there!! I’m already missing dark chocolate and I don’t seem to have the energy to work out today 😦 I’m hoping to rest up and eat up today to have some energy for a strengthening workout tomorrow.

I slept in again and ate an apple, peanut butter and bread when I woke up. I got creative and made a black bean burger for lunch over a salad and ate some more bread. I’m noticing food stamp diets are very carb heavy. I’m probably not the norm since I’m using brown rice and whole wheat flour, but it’s still making me feel like I’m in a constant state of carb coma. I also have the time to make everything from scratch, so lukcily I have not needed to utilize McDonald’s or anything out of a box.

For the black bean burger, I doubled the recipe since I was so hungry but it’s super easy! Just 1/3 cup black beans, 1 tbsp flour, and seasonings of your choice. I used worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, dried minced onion, and a sprinkle of old bay. Mash it all up with a fork, form a patty and saute in a pan with some olive oil- about 4 minutes per side. I got this recipe from KERF.http://www.katheats.com/favorite-foods/homemade-bean-burgers Maybe I can pretend it’s a crabcake.

Dinner was uneventful: rice and some veggies. I babysat tonight which was a challenge to be excited and engaged while interacting with children when all I could think about was food. Today, I started thinking about how the food I bought is possibly going to last me the rest of the week. It’s a worry I’m sure is a scary reality for some people every week of their lives. The theme of the day is food as medicine. I did not realize how quickly I would start to feel the effects from a lack of nutrients. I can only imagine that once I start eating normal again with copious amount of fruits and vegetables, my energy level, mood, and everything will improve. Antioxidants do the body wonders.

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” Hippocrates

Cara

Leave a Reply

