How to be a domestic goddess

This will be more of a light hearted fun foodie post. I don’t have anything super deep and spiritual to say today.

pumpkin 3

My latest adventure has been house sitting in the lovely town of Glenelg in Howard County. Not quite the city life I love, but it has been a nice restful week 🙂

A family friend once told me that no one will want to marry me because of the amount of debt I accrued during college, but then once he tried my cooking, he took it back and said that would cancel out the debt. He now says I can win any guy’s heart over with my cooking. However, I’ve never been much of a baker (I prefer the art of throwing spices together while cooking and I hate measuring and being so exact. Maybe it brings back bad memories from organic chemistry lab in college). But in my mind, being able to bake is always how I picture what it means to be a true domestic goddess. Not like I have anyone to impress these days but you never know when those skills will come in handy.

I’m house sitting for a dietitian I used to work with and her kitchen really is like a chemistry lab. It has everything you could need for baking and more. She has quite the collection of cookbooks as well which is where I found this one and it seemed fitting with the theme of my day.

goddess

I actually didn’t end up using this or any other cookbooks. Pinterest seemed way easier and I like having the pictures.

Despite it being 85 degrees today and not much of fall weather, I was in the mood for pumpkin. The two recipes I chose were whole wheat chocolate chip pumpkin bread and cranberry pumpkin chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. I wish I could say these are my own recipes. But they are my own pictures and it is actually me making them! Too bad I didn’t get in any action shots… Those of you who know me well know that I have done some hand modeling in the past and always hoped to make it big. Check out these wonderful food blogs for the recipes!

pumpkin 4

http://www.recipegirl.com/2007/06/03/whole-wheat-chocolate-chip-pumpkin-bread/

pumpkin 1

pumpkin 2

pumpkin 5

*Note: I doubled the recipe and it made 39 cookies.

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2012/10/24/healthy-pumpkin-chocolate-chip-oatmeal-cookies/

My sister has always said that baking is stress relief. Honestly, it used to invoke anxiety in me (probably flashbacks to all the labs I took in college), but I think the more I have practiced, the more relaxing it gets. And I must say, using a kitchenaid mixer makes all the difference!

There is something calming about creating something with our hands. Whether it’s art, cooking, collaging, pottery, sewing, scrapbooking or even play-dough. A wise mentor once told me that in those moments when we create something, we mirror our creator and we feel some sort of peace and connection to Him through that. And ultimately, we are reminded of how intricately we are made and that gives us a sense of worth and accomplishment.

Ok well maybe I will leave you with one little nugget to chew on 🙂

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”

-Psalm 139:14

Until next time,

Cara

P.S.  I was going to end with a quote from Nigella Lawson just to bring everything full circle, but my computer froze when I opened up the quote website. Clearly it’s a sign from God that she does not need to be quoted at this time and His words are better. Thank your wordpress for saving this post as a draft automatically 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to be a domestic goddess

  1. Aww Cara, this is beautiful! I love the idea of connecting with God when we work with our hands. The world would be such a better place [and maybe even a glimpse of Heaven] if we all took to creating rather than destroying.

Leave a Reply

