He who began a good work…

Overwhelmed by the breathtaking beauty of creation at Glacier National Park this past summer

Hello friends, family, and future followers! So here is my fist post, my first attempt at breaking into the blogging world. It has always been a dream of mine to have a food blog, although I recently decided that I wanted to incorporate more of my heart and soul into my posts and not just write as my foodie self. As a newly registered dietitian who is still in the midst of the ever frustrating job search, I thought now would be the perfect time to get back into some old hobbies and/or pursue new ones. Writing is something I loved in high school and did not get to do very much in college as my major was very heavy on the sciences. I am a bit rusty and am far from my days of writing AP English essays that received the ever coveted 9s. But if nothing else, this will be a good form of  therapeutic self-expression during this transition time I have been given of reflection and down time, which is often so hard for me to enjoy.

Philippians 1:6 “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ”

Like many other 20 somethings these days, I often ask myself what I am doing with my life. It is so easy to get caught up in worldly mindsets and feel like a failure because we are unemployed or working at a job we hate or still single or whatever. This verse happened to be one of those “verse of the day” verses that came at just the right time when I needed it most. Instead of focusing on what I need to be doing to get my life together, I need to be seeking God each day and trusting that He began a work in me and He will finish it. Our God is a God of completeness and wholeness. He meets us at our brokenness and incompleteness and makes us new. Now this verse says at the day of Jesus Christ. So we will not really be complete until Jesus comes back and our spirits get to be with God forever. But until then, he is molding us to be more like Him each day and getting closer to that completeness.

We so often look to God to complete us now with whatever that might be. A spouse, a job, a house etc. But those things are never enough. First I wanted a dietetic internship, then I got my top choice and it took up all of my time and I just wanted it to be over. Then, I just wanted to pass my exam and become a registered dietitian. Well then I passed and that STILL was not enough. Now I wanted a job. Once I have my “dream job” I’m sure there will be something else in my circumstances to be discontent about. I have been guilty many times of treating God like a genie in a bottle (minus Christina Aguliera). It’s a vicious cycle that never ends. The truth is, we will never be fully complete on this earth while we still have that flesh component to ourselves to longs for things of this world to fulfill us. Our contentment is not dependent on our circumstances. True contentment comes from resting in God and His plan and sovereignty, despite what is going on around you.
Proverbs 3:5-6 reminds us:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.

In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.”

By truly trusting God, we are saying that God is good and He is who He says He is. He wants what is best for us, even if the path to get there is hard. Who am I to doubt His timing and perfect plan? He already knows what job I will have and where I will be living and I’m sure it’s way better than any plan of mine. So I am inviting you on this journey with me. To live with intention and seek God daily and in each moment. This blog will serve as a sort of memoir in the form of eat, pray, run, similar to the travel memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert. Or if you’re not a reader, Julia Roberts may come to mind, who is also ok by me 🙂 I will be posting a lot of different things here related to food and fitness all in the context charm city, where God has called me to be as well as any others I may encounter during this journey of faith I’m running. So thanks for reading! Stay tuned 🙂

Cara Shipley, RD

4 thoughts on “He who began a good work…

Leave a Reply

